PDA

View Full Version : Why can't the devs realize that people who use scopes IRL don't close one eye?

crasher
11-25-2013, 02:16 PM
For clarity, I know the game is not a documentary.

http://forums.defiance.com/showthread.php?98927-Upcoming-Sight-Mods-Changes&highlight=scope+change

"Hi there!

My name’s GaryStelmack and I’m a senior designer on the mechanics team. Our team’s focus is on pretty much everything that you can make your character do: from jumping to shooting to driving to EGO Powers.

[snip 4 paragraphs]

Assault weapon mods

The scope overlay from the maneuver accuracy mods will be removed. Restricting peripheral vision with the scope overlay is antithetical to the idea of these mods which seek to improve your ability to use the gun effectively while moving."

[snip the rest]
==============================

Looking thru the scope tube is fine.
I dont have to give up a scope tube/zoom/reticle to be able to have peripheral vision.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eye_relief
If you think for a moment that it's in any way 'normal' to put your eye 'to/on' the scope and pull the trigger, I recommend you go TO the range with your medical card pinned to your sweater-vest, so the EMTs can sort it out easier.

"If the eye relief of a telescopic sight (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Telescopic_sight) is too short, leaving the eye close to the sight, the firearm's recoil can force the optic to strike the skin around the shooter's eye, leaving a cut. This is frequently called the "idiot cut" due to the obvious and long-lasting nature of such a mistake. "

The completely blinding black surround is stupid. I'm just getting tired of the dev's weapons ignorance in a shooter game.

It's not real.
It's not realistic.
It's not how anyone who has ever used a scope would ever use a scope.

It IS just one more detail the dev's put into the game to be frustrating and annoying.