PDA

View Full Version : Patch Notes - A Call For Better Transparency

Deunan
02-24-2014, 05:15 PM
It's no big secret that the patch notes with each update are always incomplete, often failing to disclose material changes in the game that players would want to know. It seems that it's being done largely out of sloppiness as some of the undisclosed changes are good (why on earth would you not want to dislcose changes that players have been requesting for weeks or months). While others are bad, Trion has made it abundantly clear that its not shy about publishing unpopular changes in advance of the actual patch dates, e.g. the weapons overhaul patch not applying retrocatively to already owned weapons and grenade-gate. That being said, things go undisclosed in patch notes so frequently that with each deficient patch note release (which is pretty much every patch note release since I started playing the game in the early fall) player trust in the Community Team gets eroded.

We have a new Community Manager now and one of the things I suggest she do right away is change the approach regarding how patch notes are prepared. The sense I get is that they are often rushed and cobbled together at the last moment. We shouldn't be seeing a draft of the patch notes on the day of implementation. Arguably we shouldn't be seeing a draft at all, but rather a final version at least a day ahead of the actual implementation of the patch. Perhaps I'm in the minority, but I think that implementing patch updates should not take precedence over total and full disclosure of what the patches do to the game. If that means an update that everyone has been screaming for has to be delayed for a few more days, I say delay it.