PDA

View Full Version : I Do Not Understand the New Scoring System

Villious
03-20-2014, 02:16 PM
I've been playing Defiance for several weeks now, and having a blast. I've been playing MMO's since the original Everquest. Defiance has been a breath of fresh air for me. Though I will say, it seems like Defiance is the red-headed step child compared to Rift. From what I can tell, so many bugs and bad design changes...but I am enjoying it non the less.

Before Gunslinger, I was scoring well in major arkfalls. Now, I'm always near the end of the list or the last one on the list. I can have more kills, less or no deaths, and still have people beat me with more kills and deaths. I cant figure out what the criteria is for the new scoring system.

I use a detonator a LOT in the larger fights. Is that it? I just can't figure it out.
Thanks so much!

Seizan
03-20-2014, 02:22 PM
I am no expert on this but it does seem like that the new system rewards players more for using weapons that deal more elemental damage/Nano effect (Bio grenades, sludges, Incinerators, etc etc). Also, it seems like you are more likely to score higher points if you can manage to keep firing on targets that other players are firing upon (teamwork +5 score).

You can run around a Siege with a stellar weapon killing everything in sight, but the chances are your score wouldn't be as high as that of someone who shadows other players and take advantage of the group/teamwork bonus.

Seizan
03-20-2014, 02:26 PM
Prior to the implementation of this new scoring system, Detonators and BMGs dominated Sieges and Incursions. Although these aforementioned weapons are still effective after the introduction of the new system, they no longer guarantee you top spot on the leaderboard now. Players who consistently score high these days are usually using weapons that emphasize nano-proc and elemental dmg.

Atticus Batman
03-20-2014, 02:32 PM