PDA

View Full Version : Is class REALLY not important?

NewbieKenobi
05-08-2014, 03:22 PM
I'm new to Defiance and everywhere I read says class choice at character creation is unimportant.
But is it? Really? Several sources claims that it only effect your starting gear and weapons. A Veteran has an Assult rifle, Machinist has an LMG and so on...
But then I read about Sypply Crates. It says that a Machinist Supply Crat is limited to give Detonators, LMG etc while a Veteran Supply Crate only gives Assult Rifles and SMGs. And the Gear in the Crate is the same as the crate; a Veteran Supply Crate gives Veteran gear and so on...

Also, I don't know how these Supply Crates are aquired. From the Sypply Box? Random loot/drops? Rewards?
Because if they are rewards or anyting and you don't get to choose wich crate to get and you have built a sniper rifle wielding Outlaw, you would only recieve Shotguns in the crate to no use for you personal preference...

I know all classes can use all weapons, but can all classes wear all gear? Because then I wonder why the game even has a class choice at all... Why chose a class when it does not matter? It does not make sense to me at all :)

Is there really NO difference at ALL depending on class choice. Because my character screen says Machinist. Why just not say Ark Hunter? Or nothing at all?

3rdpig
05-08-2014, 03:25 PM
Class is completely and totally without the slightest shred of significance or importance.

If you're looking for someone to make sense out of that for you, I can't help you and I doubt anyone else can either, although you might get a lot of BS excuses.

TheOz
05-08-2014, 03:27 PM
I'm new to Defiance and everywhere I read says class choice at character creation is unimportant.
But is it? Really? Several sources claims that it only effect your starting gear and weapons. A Veteran has an Assult rifle, Machinist has an LMG and so on...