PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone completed the patch on the 360?



Mclovin913010
07-16-2014, 10:51 AM
I've been downloading the new patch for over an hour and have received one patch failed prompt.

I restarted the patch but I don't know if it started completely over or began patching where I left off right before the patch failure.

Has anyone actually downloaded the patch and started playing?

CM Kiwibird
07-16-2014, 10:53 AM
The Xbox servers are all offline for the update. Check here. (http://forums.defiance.com/showthread.php?167713-7-16-14-NA-EU-Server-Update-Client-Patch-(Xbox-ONLY)-9-00-AM-PDT-4-00-PM-GMT&p=1561302#post1561302)

dreadi
07-16-2014, 10:56 AM
Haven't seen the new patch notes on the patcher yet so....I'm waiting it out for now ��

wartitan
07-16-2014, 10:59 AM
Yeah, I'm not even going to attempt to download the patch until they confirm the servers are back online. I may also wait until a few xbox folks guinea pig this for me so I don't end up uninstalling / reinstalling ALL the patches like I did a week or so back...

DIS
07-16-2014, 11:04 AM
I'm currently guinea pigging (installing) it now. I will let you know how it goes. Luckily I have two 360s so if it kills one I have a backup of sorts.

Lucent
07-16-2014, 11:07 AM
Yeah, I'm not even going to attempt to download the patch until they confirm the servers are back online. I may also wait until a few xbox folks guinea pig this for me so I don't end up uninstalling / reinstalling ALL the patches like I did a week or so back...

Same here!

Critical Errors
07-16-2014, 11:08 AM
I have it downloaded without an issue. Just the typical Cannot connect to server message. Looks like we'll be ok this time :D

Mclovin913010
07-16-2014, 11:10 AM
Thanks for the responses. I've just had my second failed patch attempt so maybe I'll wait.

If the patch fails does it pick up right before the fail or does it start all over from the beginning of the patch?

When I left the game about six months ago, if a patch failed it would start you where you left off. Just curious.

Bentu
07-16-2014, 11:14 AM
I've installed patch and just waiting for the servers to come back on, my Destiny awaits.

Bentu
07-16-2014, 11:23 AM
Games loaded and everything is black. Load outs are screwed up and all perks stims etc are unequipped.

TremerChrist
07-16-2014, 11:25 AM
I've installed patch and just waiting for the servers to come back on, my Destiny awaits.

You getting Destiny for 360 or the one? It will more than likely be the game that kills the 360 for me.

Bentu
07-16-2014, 11:27 AM
You getting Destiny for 360 or the one? It will more than likely be the game that kills the 360 for me.

360. Can't afford a xbone yet.

Big Jack Shepard
07-16-2014, 11:27 AM
Games loaded and everything is black. Load outs are screwed up and all perks stims etc are unequipped.Are you serious?

bigguy
07-16-2014, 11:28 AM
they did not say the servers are back online yet

OldestGamer
07-16-2014, 11:31 AM
Servers were back online at 11:21

TremerChrist
07-16-2014, 11:31 AM
Games loaded and everything is black. Load outs are screwed up and all perks stims etc are unequipped.

Logged out and back in and its making me install everything again. This will be my 4th install since the last patch that fubared everything. Worst developed game in the history of gaming, at least for me.

Bentu
07-16-2014, 11:32 AM
Are you serious?

I don't lie Jack!

Bentu
07-16-2014, 11:34 AM
Logged out and back in and its making me install everything again. This will be my 4th install since the last patch that fubared everything. Worst developed game in the history of gaming, at least for me.

Same here but I've deleted everything from my HD too.

Mclovin913010
07-16-2014, 11:34 AM
How long did it take you to download? I'm almost on my second hour, so far.

TremerChrist
07-16-2014, 11:36 AM
Yeah, I'm not even going to attempt to download the patch until they confirm the servers are back online. I may also wait until a few xbox folks guinea pig this for me so I don't end up uninstalling / reinstalling ALL the patches like I did a week or so back...

Here's your guinea pig. Treat it like a dlc and delete everything Definace from your hard drive before downloading patch.

P.S. you would think by now I would know this. Just got in a hurry trying to get my chimera daily done before work. Missed four cores in the last week patching and repatching.

Bentu
07-16-2014, 11:37 AM
How long did it take you to download? I'm almost on my second hour, so far.

About 45 minutes. Mind you I'm having to reinstall and patch so it could be 2 hours in all lol.

OldestGamer
07-16-2014, 11:39 AM
Same here but I've deleted everything from my HD too.

I had a bad feeling about this,Glad I'm not home trying to download ! Keep us posted please!

mcal9909
07-16-2014, 11:41 AM
Swear my progress bar has been creeping backwards. Been saying an hour left for the last hour. Speed Consistent tho.

Bentu
07-16-2014, 11:43 AM
I had a bad feeling about this,Glad I'm not home trying to download ! Keep us posted please!

Will do, but this shtako is the norm now.

Imagine being a f2p down loading for the first time. Nearly 10gigs of memory used up and you hwve to do it all again. I shouldn't be smiling right now but it does tickle me somewhat.

Mclovin913010
07-16-2014, 11:51 AM
Same here. I don't know if I'm actually making progress or if I'm spinning my wheels here.

Storm58
07-16-2014, 11:52 AM
Morgana said there are now issues with the 360 servers... so, another fail with this "patch."

"Hi all,

After further review, it does appear that the NA Xbox 360 server is having some difficulty. We're currently troubleshooting the issue and are working on a resolution. As soon as I've got more details, I'll update this thread."

Bentu
07-16-2014, 11:53 AM
Installed and now re patching.

Bentu
07-16-2014, 11:55 AM
Morgana said there are now issues with the 360 servers... so, another fail with this "patch."

"Hi all,

After further review, it does appear that the NA Xbox 360 server is having some difficulty. We're currently troubleshooting the issue and are working on a resolution. As soon as I've got more details, I'll update this thread."

I patched on EU.

Mclovin913010
07-16-2014, 11:56 AM
Just erased the patch I've been downloading for two hours because I wasn't making progress. Why did I come back to this mess of a game?

mcal9909
07-16-2014, 11:58 AM
Think a reinstall is definitely in order. Seems to be stuck in a loop. Finishes download then starts again 3 times now...

Bentu
07-16-2014, 11:59 AM
Just erased the patch I've been downloading for two hours because I wasn't making progress. Why did I come back to this mess of a game?

The answer is in your sig.

East Astros
07-16-2014, 12:00 PM
Think a reinstall is definitely in order. Seems to be stuck in a loop. Finishes download then starts again 3 times now...

I have a buddy that's in game right now on xbox NA.

Illyios
07-16-2014, 12:04 PM
I have a buddy that's in game right now on xbox NA.
Does that mean it's safe? I was getting it earlier but started to read it was having problems so I canceled it and deleted the patch.

Mclovin913010
07-16-2014, 12:05 PM
That's what it was doing to me too.

Mclovin913010
07-16-2014, 12:07 PM
I want to like this game, but it's so difficult sometimes.

Mclovin913010
07-16-2014, 12:09 PM
The answer is in your sig.

Well played sir.

East Astros
07-16-2014, 12:17 PM
Does that mean it's safe? I was getting it earlier but started to read it was having problems so I canceled it and deleted the patch.

He's still in there and has been in there for about 25 minutes so far and hasn't had any problems so in taking that as the all clear lol.

Tex Hex
07-16-2014, 12:19 PM
I patched in 20 mins after conformation of the servers being up. although when i got in game everything was blacked out and half of the functions did not work. so i went back to the dashboard. when i restarted the game it forced me to re-install the game and now the patching process is taking literally about 5 times as long. this happens every time there is new content or a dlc to patch. i have just gotten used to the process.

xliner
07-16-2014, 12:20 PM
http://i.imgur.com/usxIvOm.jpg


Still broken :/

East Astros
07-16-2014, 12:23 PM
I patched in 20 mins after conformation of the servers being up. although when i got in game everything was blacked out and half of the functions did not work. so i went back to the dashboard. when i restarted the game it forced me to re-install the game and now the patching process is taking literally about 5 times as long. this happens every time there is new content or a dlc to patch. i have just gotten used to the process.

Same thing happened to me. Check your defiance save files and make sure that any of them aren't corrupted. If so delete it. After that just let it reinstall the game. Once that is done you will be able to patch normally and everything should work fine :D

Bentu
07-16-2014, 12:24 PM
http://i.imgur.com/usxIvOm.jpg


Still broken :/


That's exactly what I had.

Went to HD to delete all Defiance data and there was a corrupt save there as well. So I'm assuming that was it.

OldestGamer
07-16-2014, 12:30 PM
I have a buddy that's in game right now on xbox NA.

Did your buddy delete his files on his HD before downloading patch?

East Astros
07-16-2014, 12:34 PM
Did your buddy delete his files on his HD before downloading patch?

No he did not. He just did it normally. I think he lucked out and patched at the right time lol.

OldestGamer
07-16-2014, 12:45 PM
No he did not. He just did it normally. I think he lucked out and patched at the right time lol.

Thanks Astros, Think I'll just try the patches,since I had to delete and reload the game last week! Won't be able to download till 6pm anyway. Good Luck everyone!

Mushbeeguy
07-16-2014, 12:48 PM
Bentu, After patching I got the same black terrain. I restarted and it demanded a reinstall of the game. It started about two thirds into the game install process. I am currently going through the approx 1 hr work of patching now.

If it fails I'm not even going to try it a third time.

Seriously, does ANYONE test ANYTHING at Trion???

B1eedingThumbs
07-16-2014, 12:48 PM
Waited until the servers were up, patched and got to character select screen. Noticed the new artwork and half a character! Couldn't input anything on controller so switched of controller and tried another, nothing. Quit to dashboard only to be hit with another install.

Bentu
07-16-2014, 12:49 PM
In game and sorted. Someone else can be the guinea pig next time.

East Astros
07-16-2014, 12:52 PM
Thanks Astros, Think I'll just try the patches,since I had to delete and reload the game last week! Won't be able to download till 6pm anyway. Good Luck everyone!

Anytime. And if you all would like to wait I am almost done patching. Maybe 10-15 minutes left. So if you would like to wait I will tell you if I encounter any problems after the patch.

OldestGamer
07-16-2014, 12:52 PM
In game and sorted. Someone else can be the guinea pig next time.

Good to hear Bentu, Enjoy!

Mclovin913010
07-16-2014, 12:54 PM
Bentu, After patching I got the same black terrain. I restarted and it demanded a reinstall of the game. It started about two thirds into the game install process. I am currently going through the approx 1 hr work of patching now.

If it fails I'm not even going to try it a third time.

Seriously, does ANYONE test ANYTHING at Trion???

I just deleted all of my Defiance files from my HD and giving it one last chance to download. If it doesn't work this time I'm done. I've been messing with this since 11:00 Am cst and it's 2:52 PM cst. Ridiculous.

DIS
07-16-2014, 12:56 PM
Patched just fine for me. When I got in game things were not loading, like the mission stuff and my map was jenky, so, I dashboarded, it did a 10 second patch and 5 minute optimization. I'll let you know how it goes, but for ye moment everything seems to be working fine.

Tex Hex
07-16-2014, 01:06 PM
I just finished patching for the second time. and everything seems to be back to normal.

Mclovin913010
07-16-2014, 01:50 PM
It seems to be downloading properly now and not stuck in a downloading loop. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

steve french69
07-16-2014, 01:54 PM
i downloaded the patch,when that was done I got the black screen like you guys did restarted game and when I got back on said I had to install game...am I gonna lose all my progress?

ARB82
07-16-2014, 01:57 PM
Nope, I got exactly the same like it was a brand new game, I installed and it repatched, just waiting for that to finish and I'll try and report back.

EDIT: just to let you know, all the data is still there, so don't panic.

PimplyPete
07-16-2014, 01:57 PM
i downloaded the patch,when that was done I got the black screen like you guys did restarted game and when I got back on said I had to install game...am I gonna lose all my progress?

Your progress is saved on the server side, so your progression should be fine.

Also, I too have the Black texture glitch after the patch. This marks the 3rd time that I had to re-install the game and all it's DLP....I mean DLC.:rolleyes:

steve french69
07-16-2014, 02:01 PM
now its making me download another patch that says its gonna take a couple hours

ARB82
07-16-2014, 02:05 PM
That's where I'm at, just optimising. If this doesn't cut it I'll likely sell me Wolfe me wildly and me zaggy and use the disc as a frisbee

Mclovin913010
07-16-2014, 02:09 PM
Finally!!!!!

0XKaRmAxo
07-16-2014, 02:16 PM
I am now on my 2nd install and 3rd xbox freeze... I just want to play the game already. :(

Clarity Page
07-16-2014, 02:19 PM
does anyone know how big the patch is? just the install time and download rate would do i could figure it out from those. also how many parts is there too the update

just that i want to know if its worth attempting to patch tonight or whether to start it off tomorrow morning.

Durva360
07-16-2014, 02:21 PM
Just patched and went in fine, no issues or anything. It helps paying attention to their announcement thread so I can see when the severs are actually up. Alot of the times you can patch before they are technically up and this can cause corrupted patches and character issues.

PimplyPete
07-16-2014, 02:40 PM
It helps paying attention to their announcement thread so I can see when the severs are actually up. Alot of the times you can patch before they are technically up and this can cause corrupted patches and character issues.

I patched mine @ around 1:00pm and it still gave me the Black textures. Guess some of us are just unlucky. =/

ForemostMidget
07-16-2014, 02:40 PM
How long did the patch take for you Durva?

Lucent
07-16-2014, 02:43 PM
I just patched and now I have timed out after clicking my character many times so I can't actually get in.

Annnnnnd now when I dashboarded and went back in, its repatching. :cool: :cool: :cool: :cool: :cool: :cool: :cool:

SpudGunner
07-16-2014, 02:49 PM
5 attempts so far :'(

K Ron Spliffs
07-16-2014, 02:51 PM
Working as intended?

0XKaRmAxo
07-16-2014, 02:51 PM
Finally after the second full install I am in and all is good :)

luckydeath716
07-16-2014, 03:17 PM
2 re-installs so far 3rd time i hopes the charm lol

txusguy328
07-16-2014, 07:34 PM
7-16-2014. Well what a load of crap. All evening I have tried to actually downloaded the patch on xbox only to receive critical error messages each time!!! And yes I even went to storage and deleted defiance still.....just crap. They tell us " the xbox servers are up" what a load of BS!!

txusguy328
07-16-2014, 07:36 PM
Yes 4 time here!! But don't worry the xbox servers are up or so "they" say. Just waste several more hours of time. Lol

txusguy328
07-16-2014, 08:07 PM
Just patched and went in fine, no issues or anything. It helps paying attention to their announcement thread so I can see when the severs are actually up. Alot of the times you can patch before they are technically up and this can cause corrupted patches and character issues.

That's true of course, however when this happen you must simply go to storage, games, and delete all defiance. But of course for some of us this does not even work we are just....S.O.L.!!!

velcroninja
07-18-2014, 07:12 AM
No I've been trying for two days. I get to - verifying patch- then everything freezes up. Anyone else still having this problem?

360 NA server

N3gativeCr33p
07-18-2014, 07:18 AM
... bumping for exposure...


Anyone else still having this problem?

360 NA server

Sorry to hear yours still isn't working, but mine actually worked after I deleted all of the old stuff and did a fresh install.

OldestGamer
07-18-2014, 07:19 AM
No I've been trying for two days. I get to - verifying patch- then everything freezes up. Anyone else still having this problem?

360 NA server Velcro,Delete the Defiance files from your console and then start the patch.Long time no see!

velcroninja
07-18-2014, 07:37 AM
I wasn't sure which one's should go there were 6 different saved patches. They're all gone now though hopefully it will work now thanks

N3gativeCr33p
07-18-2014, 07:39 AM
I wasn't sure which one's should go there were 6 different saved patches.

My opinion?

Other than any DLC you might have saved on your hard drive, delete EVERYTHING else that's Defiance related. Your character information is safe, that's all stored server side.

velcroninja
07-18-2014, 03:28 PM
Thanks to all who replied. It seems deleting everything worked I was able to download the new patch in one go and then start playing with no problems on that end, everything was where is should have been on my character screen.

Alastar
07-18-2014, 03:37 PM
I don't like the sound of this at all. When I first got defiance over a year ago it took like 4 hours or more to run the patcher. Now I have to do it again?