PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and an Update

Rashere
08-22-2014, 10:28 AM
Hello everybody! I wanted to pop in here and introduce myself and talk a bit about some changes we’re making that should find their way to PTS soon.

First things first, my name is Travis McGeathy, though you’ll see me post as Rashere, a name I picked up in the early days of MMOs and that has stuck with me as a developer ever since. I’ve been making MMOs for about 18 years. In that time, I’ve worked on almost every genre out there from text MUDs to flight sims, turn-based strategy to first-person shooters, and everything in between. Before coming to Trion, I was the Design Director for an MMORPG known to the world as Project Copernicus and before that I was the Lead Designer on EverQuest (and now I just feel old…) I joined Trion a few months ago to work on another project and recently moved over to Defiance where I’ll be focusing on the game systems and economy (jumping right into the fire!)

With that out of the way, the stuff you actually care about: what am I doing?

Arkforge:
We’ll be reducing the cost associated with increasing the EGO rating of an item.

I’ve been looking at the rate that Arkforge is entering the game after the recent changes relative to the costs associated with upgrading weapons. As some of your feedback has attested to, even if you’re focused on finding Arkforge, you’ll tend to gain EGO faster than you’ll find the Arkforge needed to upgrade your high end items. Since enemy difficulty scales as your EGO increases, this puts you in a rough spot. After this change, assuming you’re seeking out Arkforge drops, you should be able to keep an Epic item levelled with you without too much trouble. Keeping a Legendary upgraded will be more difficult, though not so out of reach as it is currently.