PDA

View Full Version : Whats even random about RNG..

Mister Derpenhowser
02-17-2015, 08:30 PM
All I see is a broken biased system. Its not random when the same people get oj after oj and others get nothing. And I'm not just talking about events but from lockboxes bought within the game and from the store. Its bs tbh and needs to be looked at. :mad:

Ryker Vorton
02-18-2015, 07:47 AM
the problem is when the randomization is too wide and the chances too narrow,

I've been playing real RPGs for over 20 years (on both sides of the screen) and i got quite a bit of experience on how a % chance works, and even 1% is not as bad as it would seem (using a 100 sided dice of course or even a computer generated roll) but when we have several digits it goes all to hell, think about it, a 0.05 chance of getting anything is five chances in 10000, you have better odds playing the lottery!

Still, onne thing i always seen in just about every computer game i played is that it is really common that people tend to think that missed rolls are accumulative (in other words, if you had 1 on 20 chances they think you MUST get the reward once in 20 rolls, while you can actually roll for the eternity and never get your number)

But, we have a saying down here, let's see if it comes out well translated to english: "it isn't the pig's fault, it is of those who feed them".

Why do i say that? simple: if the odds were actually better/ more logic, more fair, etc so you actually CAN get your rewards, there is a whole lot of people who whine and cry because "it is too easy to get the good stuff" (of course most of them only said that AFTER they got theirs) so any game admin is faced to choose between two evils: A) one that spend money once in a while, get their reward and go happy or B the other option that will produce a lot of people hopelessly playing the lottery game with the few of them who had enough luck (or whatever else) to get the reward having bragging rights.