PDA

View Full Version : Crash on Launcher - April 6th



Mackdack54
04-06-2013, 03:48 AM
Hi All -

I am trying to boot up the game through the launcher and it is not working. I was curious if anyone else is having these issues. I put in my email address and password, it SEEMS like the game tries to launch but then I get kicked back to the launcher main screen.

Has anyone else been having this issue?

Thank you!

Jestunhi
04-06-2013, 03:49 AM
Nope, working fine here atm.

Cereal
04-06-2013, 03:50 AM
I am having the exact same issue, have tried reloading, restarting etc. but still no joy :(

Mps
04-06-2013, 03:50 AM
+1 to this

foxsyd
04-06-2013, 03:51 AM
Yes, exactly same for me.

(9:51 pm Saturday, Sydney Australia time)

Maxamus
04-06-2013, 03:52 AM
hey, are you guys using steam? I think there is something wrong with steam atm, as I cant play any of my games on steam? but yea am having same problem, launches then just crashes to launcher again

N7Spec
04-06-2013, 03:52 AM
Same here...:(

foxsyd
04-06-2013, 03:52 AM
hey, are you guys using steam? I think there is something wrong with steam atm, as I cant play any of my games on steam? but yea am having same problem, launches then just crashes to launcher again

Yes, I'm on Steam.

Mackdack54
04-06-2013, 03:53 AM
Yes, I'm on Steam.

I am also on Steam. Is there any way to either bring this up with the Defiance team or do we have to just wait around for Steam to fix whatever their issue is?

Happy to see there are a few of us in this boat...I'm sure it will get fixed.

The Butler
04-06-2013, 03:53 AM
Me and wife have exact same issue.

Login - game client pops up and then after about 30 secs just closes.

Was working fine at 01:00 this morning. Now at 11:30 have this problem.

Wondering if maybe issue with Steam as for first time ever have had the message "Unable to connect to Steam as experiencing heavy load".

I'm in UK with Sky Broadband.

666zarike
04-06-2013, 03:55 AM
Had the same problem but now, after closing the patcher and opening about 10 times, the game wants me to download a new patch for about 7-10 hours, so ****ing pissed, waited the whole night, and this whole afternoon, and now I got to wait until the evening to play?
****ing ********, why did the game just tell me it needed this much time in the beginning, now I was all hyped up to play.

Mps
04-06-2013, 03:55 AM
yes I am using steam

Stonebridge
04-06-2013, 03:55 AM
yeah same for me, mine's on Steam but it shouldn't make a difference as i was playing fine a couple of hours ago.

GarfrostPAX
04-06-2013, 03:58 AM
Manually launch it from your SteamApps folder, and it works just fine.

Mackdack54
04-06-2013, 03:58 AM
When people can start getting back into the game maybe it would be beneficial for folks to post in this thread to let everyone know they are able to play again. I'll keep an eye out on my Steam version and keep trying to log in.

I was all jacked up to have an early morning session too.

TacoThief
04-06-2013, 03:58 AM
It looks like an issue with Steam. I keep getting the "No Connection" at the bottom and server busy messages. Maybe they are updating something.

Mackdack54
04-06-2013, 04:00 AM
Manually launch it from your SteamApps folder, and it works just fine.

UPDATE: This works. I just tried it and am back online.

Thank you GarfrostPAX for the hint!

N7Spec
04-06-2013, 04:00 AM
Worked perfectly!! Thanks

Maxamus
04-06-2013, 04:00 AM
Manually launch it from your SteamApps folder, and it works just fine.

Yep just did that my self and works fine

The Butler
04-06-2013, 04:01 AM
Thanks Garfrost Pax!

To elaborate I had to make sure I had EXITED Steam first (wouldn't work if Steam was still running).
Then Navigate to "SteamApps/common/Defiance" and run "Patcher.exe"

This brings up the login screen and I could get in fine.

Mps
04-06-2013, 04:03 AM
Manually launch it from your SteamApps folder, and it works just fine.
Working Thanks

GarfrostPAX
04-06-2013, 04:04 AM
It's a little something I tend to try when Steam has issues launching stuff, my guess is that because it has no connection it's trying to send and recognize what game it is and do something with it on the server-side, for tracking time and sending the data to your friends perhaps.. But since it can't do that, it somehow sees this as an issue and kills the process? I'm not entirely sure. But this would be my current guess. (I also tried disabling the Overlay earlier, but this yielded no result)

berusko
04-06-2013, 04:05 AM
That's a Steam problem. "NO CONNECTION" and then u can't run defiance ^^
Working now though

Lantui
04-06-2013, 05:11 AM
is nothing todo with Steam, this because Server is FULL! - Defiance Should make Notification Something that dont make Player think "What is Going ON!?"

Keep Pressing Play until you get Login in the Defiance Server....

ssgt rj
04-06-2013, 05:12 AM
Just went down...8:11EST.....

Gohlar
04-06-2013, 05:25 AM
Remember, any game where you have to create another account outside of Steam will almost certainly not require Steam in order to start. You can just start these game directly. This include uplay games for example.

Eigenheit
04-06-2013, 06:34 AM
Able to log in w/o issue. 9:34 EST