PDA

View Full Version : How do I take a Screen Shot?



soundstream1969
04-09-2013, 06:49 PM
just what the title says. how do i take a screen shot on PC? and how do i remove the UI overlay?

I've looked for the hotkey references in the settings menus but i cant find any mention of them.

Ikagawa
04-09-2013, 06:54 PM
I believe keybinds are under Controls, at the bottom under Keymapping.

soundstream1969
04-09-2013, 07:07 PM
all i see under controls is COMBAT, VEHICLE, and MENUES. the screenshot and remove UI commands aren't listed in any of them.

Guyonbench
04-09-2013, 07:12 PM
I was wondering this as well. I looked through the options and couldnt find a screenshot button, so I tried to take a screen capture and just got a black box.

Diabolico
04-09-2013, 07:18 PM
Use the "print screen" key on your keyboard (prt sc). You might have to press and hold the "function" key (fn). I have no idea how your keyboard looks like, so that's as much I can help you with.

Guyonbench
04-09-2013, 07:23 PM
Tried that, and nothin. Found another thread though saying that there just isnt any screenshot function in game, but if you put your game into windowed mode you can take a screen capture. Gonna try my luck with that.

Taaltos
04-09-2013, 07:25 PM
You can't take a screenshot at the moment without using a third party software like Fraps.

Please, learn to use the Search function as there have been many threads on this. I'm not being snarky, just offering some advice before making threads.

soundstream1969
04-09-2013, 07:29 PM
i DID search before this post and the search engine didn't find any previous posts

Ikagawa
04-09-2013, 07:32 PM
i DID search before this post and the search engine didn't find any previous posts

http://forums.defiance.com/showthread.php?22318-How-do-you-take-Screenshots-in-Defiance&highlight=screenshot

http://forums.defiance.com/showthread.php?22162-how-save-a-picture&highlight=screenshot

http://forums.defiance.com/showthread.php?22776-Plea-to-Trion-Screenshot-feature.&highlight=screenshot

http://forums.defiance.com/showthread.php?19475-How-do-you-take-a-screenshot&highlight=screenshot

All on the first page of search results for the PC forum alone.

soundstream1969
04-09-2013, 07:50 PM
don't look at me lol.. i got nothing when i searched.... anyway .. SNIPPING tool built into windows works fine. just run your game in window mode.

N7_Legion
04-09-2013, 08:52 PM
I use "Print Screen", works fine for me.

Defy
04-09-2013, 11:10 PM
You can't take a screenshot at the moment without using a third party software like Fraps.

Please, learn to use the Search function as there have been many threads on this. I'm not being snarky, just offering some advice before making threads.

I use Bandicam

MrZeeck
04-10-2013, 03:00 AM
For anyone interested in a screenshot feature, I made an official post in the suggestion part of the forum in an attempt to get Devs to notice this. Would be great if more people would show support :)

Link to post: http://forums.defiance.com/showthread.php?22817-Plea-to-Trion-Screenshot-feature.

Gronix
04-10-2013, 01:20 PM
I can't believe I didn't think of this before! You can use Steam, even if you don't have steam you can download it, you will have to make an account though, and you can simply "add a non steam game" to the library and use Steam to take screenshots, you can even reassign the screenshot key.

Shima
04-10-2013, 01:22 PM
I just use the printscreen key and then open up paint and paste, save as jpg. Default windows operation.

Gronix
04-10-2013, 02:54 PM
I just use the printscreen key and then open up paint and paste, save as jpg. Default windows operation.

Jpeg are not good quality. I did this for a few screenshots but it's long winded. With Steam you can take a few screenshots in quick succession.

Shismar
04-10-2013, 03:16 PM
I just use the printscreen key and then open up paint and paste, save as jpg. Default windows operation.

Only in windowed mode. Most people play in fullscreen though, I would think, and then this does not work.

I use the demo version of fraps. BMP only but I don't capture much and just save as JPEG in paint.net or something similar if required. Jpegs are fine in high quality settings.


Jpeg are not good quality. I did this for a few screenshots but it's long winded. With Steam you can take a few screenshots in quick succession.
Pretty sure these are Jpegs as well. Nobody really uses anything else for screenshots. If yours are bad quality, adjust the save options.

Nico
04-10-2013, 03:57 PM
I take screen shots all the time with my prt scrn button? don't know why you guys cant...

Ikagawa
04-10-2013, 04:10 PM
I take screen shots all the time with my prt scrn button? don't know why you guys cant...

It's a good thing you didn't read the thread.

alansun99
05-16-2013, 11:59 PM
You need a third-party software to capture screenshot such as PC Desktop Spy Keylogger (http://www.dtspy.com/stealth-software-to-capture-screenshots.htm)

crasher
05-17-2013, 12:14 AM
I just use the printscreen key and then open up paint and paste, save as jpg. Default windows operation.

This is what I did to save arkfall results so I could track my progress.

Racheakt
05-17-2013, 08:29 AM
I am a steam user, so I use steam's SS utility, f11 or f12 i think.