PDA

View Full Version : So I'm new to MMOs but...

Altruist
04-21-2013, 04:05 AM
...is this downtime normal? I mean this super long one. Constantly adding hours and such? I just talked my brother into playing it, and we try to log on... then bam. Now I'm pretty sure he won't ever touch it again. So I'm going to need other people to play with.

Zoridium JackL
04-21-2013, 04:07 AM
no this is not normal, most downtimes are very brief and scheduled, this is emergency down time that was very unexpected, be patient.

Earthlust
04-21-2013, 04:08 AM
Guess that depends on your definition. They're not unheard of, either. Most games have had a few extended emergency downtimes... probably more have than not.

Multigun
04-21-2013, 04:09 AM
It *is* normal in a sense that it happens to every MMO (Every, single, one. This is meant for people who are going to reply that every other mmo has a "perfect" launch). However, 8 hours + is the exception, Trion usually doesn't keep servers down longer then an hour with the several restarts I have experienced. Last patch they added (the small one not the big one) they said expected downtime was an hour, it was down for 30 minutes instead. Just kind of have to shrug your shoulders and wait.

CrimsonDawntracker
04-21-2013, 04:10 AM
If this crazy long downtime happens again in the future or more....oh god why.

squidgod2000
04-21-2013, 04:12 AM
Used to be normal (24-hour downtime for a patch wasn't out of the question back in the day), but it's not the kind of thing you'd expect from Trion (well, pre-Defiance launch Trion).

Atticus Finch
04-21-2013, 04:14 AM
You PC guys will probably get some nice boosts after all this is over

Altruist
04-21-2013, 04:16 AM
On the plus side, I never had any of the problems most people kept getting when they first got the game. I installed and logged on smooth as eggs.

BrutikusIV
04-21-2013, 04:18 AM