PDA

View Full Version : Curious about laptop specs.

crasher
05-24-2013, 03:22 PM
I always play on the intel/Gigabyte/Radeon/Win7 unit I built last fall.

It's reasonably stout and bulletproof as far as everything I pitch at it, so I have no other experience to compare.

What are the game specs re: i5/Win7 laptop?
Possible, or so far out in left field it's off the map?

Just wondering about how hard it'd be to make the game portable for those times that I can't call in sick, or actually have to *attend* meetings-n-crap.

RL can be such a bother...

Dazz
05-24-2013, 04:55 PM

It's reasonably stout and bulletproof as far as everything I pitch at it, so I have no other experience to compare.

Just wondering about how hard it'd be to make the game portable for those times that I can't call in sick, or actually have to *attend* meetings-n-crap.

Well, just for the record, I have an Asus gaming laptop, this one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834230141 and its laggy as hell. Arkfalls can take more than 30 seconds to rezz at times. Never was on WoW or Rift or whatever, but it hates Defiance. Maybe its wifi, or maybe its the video controller, dunno. My quad core desktop runs just fine and has a wired network connection. *shrugs*

Whippersnapper
05-24-2013, 05:38 PM
Im no good with laptops. The issue I have with them is the vid card since its built-in to the motherboard and cant be replaced. This is bad for me because I don't buy new PCs unless they break or become obsolete.

That said, even an i3 CPU should be fine so long as the vid card on the motherboard is good enough, and you can get one reasonably cheap too at 300-400. Just gotta sniff out a deal. Desktops can be even cheaper if you go with "last years model" instead of going top-of-the-line. Yea you wont be quite on par with the Big 'Ol Boys but it'll suffice, and even if it breaks quick, you still save after buying a similar replacement. In other words, they're more "disposable"

PrimalSiren