PDA

View Full Version : Black Screen



Exude
01-11-2013, 07:23 PM
When I launch the game, I see the TRION intro but then the screen goes black. However, I do hear the background music. Any suggestions?

Train
01-11-2013, 07:29 PM
This is also happening to me. I have no idea what to do about it. I have uninstalled 3 times and reinstalled. Nothing changes.


I have Windows 8. My graphics card is a 560 ti so there should not be a problem with that. I even made sure my drivers were up to date.

Exude
01-11-2013, 08:00 PM
Anyone else having this problem or found a fix? Heard there was some trouble with Windows 8.

Niv
01-11-2013, 08:03 PM
Heard there was some trouble with Windows 8.

Is that the issue? Man that would suck.

electprogeny
01-11-2013, 08:10 PM
Anyone else having this problem or found a fix? Heard there was some trouble with Windows 8.

Same problem, and I'm on Windows 7 - Home Premium

Train
01-12-2013, 08:26 AM
I got it to work last night when having this same problem. I had to physically go and find the folder and delete the whole Defiance Beta folder manually.


After I did that I reinstalled and it worked perfectly.

BadCompany
01-12-2013, 08:29 AM
This is also happening to me. I have no idea what to do about it. I have uninstalled 3 times and reinstalled. Nothing changes.


I have Windows 8. My graphics card is a 560 ti so there should not be a problem with that. I even made sure my drivers were up to date.

I'm running a 560 TI with an Intel I5 and 16 gigs of RAM.

Had no problems with graphics, and after they made their adjustments it looked and played great at full graphics settings.

Train
01-12-2013, 08:40 AM
Ya it looked great once I was in the game. I had to manually delete the file and reinstall the whole game. I eventually got in. The game ran fantastic besides the lag and disconnects. But that is to be expected.

Krytical
01-18-2013, 02:48 PM
I'm having the same issue. Black screen (with background music) right after the Trion Worlds intro.

Trying to reinstall now to see what happens.

Ashlorne
01-18-2013, 05:57 PM
Also black screen here. Just deleted all files and reinstalling now.. we'll see what happens.

CornTortilla
01-18-2013, 06:18 PM
Same problem. Running windows 7, and did a hard uninstall/fresh reinstall and seeing how that works.

Krytical
01-18-2013, 07:07 PM
As someone mentioned in this thread before, manually removing the install folder and re-installing fixed the issue for me.

Ashlorne
01-19-2013, 04:48 AM
So I tried to uninstall and install it into different directories, but no luck. It just gives me a black screen... too bad, was hoping I could give Defiance a try. Well, better luck next time.

loner614
04-20-2018, 03:29 PM
It might be a Direct X issue, I got an e-mail that stated 2050 is using Direct X 11, Windows 7 is Only Direct x 10.5, The original Defiance used direct x 9... =(

tuckerpb
04-20-2018, 08:54 PM
before deleting and trying to reinstall. if you get to the setting try switching to window mode. not full window mode tho.

superstorm
04-21-2018, 01:31 AM
It might be a Direct X issue, I got an e-mail that stated 2050 is using Direct X 11, Windows 7 is Only Direct x 10.5, The original Defiance used direct x 9... =(
Windows 7 fully supports DX11, so forget, this is not an issue. Even more, there is a patch for win7 to support DX12.

torch327
04-21-2018, 04:58 AM
It might be a Direct X issue, I got an e-mail that stated 2050 is using Direct X 11, Windows 7 is Only Direct x 10.5, The original Defiance used direct x 9... =(

Windows 7 does in fact have DX11, I was using Windows 7 and using the DX11 client for Final Fantasy XIV. It may not ihave originally had it, but I do knoqw from experience it did at least get it via updates. According to https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/179113/how-to-install-the-latest-version-of-directx Windows 7 does have DX11

torch327
04-21-2018, 06:24 AM
I got it to work last night when having this same problem. I had to physically go and find the folder and delete the whole Defiance Beta folder manually.


After I did that I reinstalled and it worked perfectly.

this folder? I find it odd that I have the original Defiance.exe in the Defiance2050 folder
https://imgur.com/K58qHJW

DoomsDay
04-21-2018, 11:39 AM
my friend had this same issue. in glyph launcher, right click game, run repair. he is now in.

Good luck.

stoodakiss
04-21-2018, 12:58 PM
When I launch the game, I see the TRION intro but then the screen goes black. However, I do hear the background music. Any suggestions?

try holding shift and right click on the application in the taskbar and select move up. this should solve your problem.

Glinester
04-21-2018, 03:45 PM
I think is has to do with resolution changes. I have an older plasma 42" that goes black with some screen/resolution changes. If I turn the set off then back on it will display correctly again. Try that with your monitors to see if it works for you.

rebelyell
04-22-2018, 05:24 AM
ok everyone stop........ win 8 dont work since it uses mostly win 7 drivers win 8 was thrown away in months you must have win 8.1 or your screwed thats basic knowledge... win 8.1 no win 8 thats bad it dont work

rebelyell
04-22-2018, 05:27 AM
run win 7 or 8.1 but win 8 oh no they pulled that fast it was a shambled mess

MrE
04-22-2018, 05:37 AM
blackscreen on startup for me aswell, with a white box.