PDA

View Full Version : Chat matters... If you build it, we will use it

MacDeath
05-31-2013, 04:48 AM
I just took a break from Rift to grab some lunch. I ate at my PC and came here to check on the forums while eating. I RARELY go to the Rift forums but I'm on Defiance forums a lot... I Think I know why...

I'm an MMO hobbyist. I like to play MMOs and to learn about what's happening in my current games and some upcoming games. When I was just in Rift, I was leveling up my fishing skill. That's a pretty calm skill and it doesn't take much attention, so I was chatting in the global level 50 - 59 chat. That's where I keep up with what's happening in game. In Defiance if I wan't to know what's happening... I log out and hit up these forums.

In a couple weeks, Rift goes Free to play. I think I'll hang out in the newbie zone and answer newb questions in lowbie chat. Defiance chat doesn't provide for these kinds of things. I do get that most shooter games don't provide many Social options, but Defiance isn't just like every other shooter out there, it has an MMO aspect to it. Please flesh out the Social options. We will use them.

Thanks for listening, now back to Rift where the fish are biting.

Troy
05-31-2013, 05:04 AM
+10000000, I 100% agree, community is build around discussion.

Leslannatrix
05-31-2013, 05:09 AM
yep, I totally agree with that statement. I've always felt the chat to be lacking.

as a matter of fact, it is also one of the reason I didn't do much coop instances yet, (few people take the time to explain what to do in chat) If the chat was more functional then I'd definitely give it a shot.

Schwa
05-31-2013, 05:11 AM
Considering how the trait bug still isn't fixed, I very much look forward to seeing how long it takes for them to deliver their promised chat enhancements.

Iceberg
05-31-2013, 05:55 AM
Wasn't there a guy on here who already made a better chat UI for the devs to use? Not sure but I think his name was kane.

Remag Div
05-31-2013, 07:09 AM