PDA

View Full Version : First impressions so far:

Volkon
03-24-2013, 06:32 AM
OK, first off I'm having fun. I really am. I've been playing Guild Wars 2 exclusively for the past six months (and still will, love it), but this has been a refreshing breath of air. So rather than a tedious paragraph of opinion, I'm just going to list positives and negatives I see at this point in Beta. (Note: I pre-purchased now, I'm enjoying it enough that I went for it. Digi-deluxe too. ;) )

Although the side missions are in line with the archaic "quest-bang" structure, they've still been fun.

Cons:

NPCs make the world seem static. When they talk, their mouths don't even open. There are two old guys drinking, using the exact same animations at the exact same time mirroring each other, and their hands are empty. Give the NPCs life! Give them chatter, chat, large paths to walk on. Have them go home at night, or to work! Have them get caught in events on the way and need help. Maybe have them become vendors for little trinkets, mods, skins, if you help them through various events, then after awhile pack up and be on their way. NPCs make or break the life of a world. These make the world feel static and dead.

Movement could benefit from a strafing, using "Q" and "E" for that. If it's there, I haven't found it. But... it's not that bad and not impairing.

Needs more "critters" in the world... all there really is are bad guys and bugs. A little more mutated fauna, maybe more ambients to give a more living feeling... that would go far.

No fall damage. Well... can't really say "pro" or "con" on that... I've been a bit silly with insane jumps and all, but fall damage does keep you well grounded.

Exiting the game is a pain in the posterior on the PC. Took me forever to find it. Buried under "F6"? Odd place to put it.

World needs a little more polish... found a few floating trees and the like, not many though.