PDA

View Full Version : Why so few choices?

TheStigsVegCousin
06-14-2013, 04:12 PM
I'm brand new to MMOs (Yeah, I know Defiance barely qualifies as one) so I'm hoping some of you who have done this kind of thing any times before can shed some light on this for me: why are we given so few choices when it comes to weapons?

It seems to me luck plays too big a part in your choice of weapon, and I'm NOT talking about the RARITY, but the actual type of weapon. If I prefer a certain type, affinity, nano, bonus, etc., shouldn't I have the choice to use them without having to pray that the magical combination of all of these things drops? Is this a bad choice on Trion's part or this par for the course when it comes to games like this?

alred
06-14-2013, 04:37 PM
It's been my experience, from a few different MMOs, drops are random. In Defiance, I've picked up several different cluster shots, for example. To date, I think only once did I get a duplicate nano effect on one.

Which is why I stick to 4 favorite weapons. When I max out the weapon skill, I put that weapon in inventory and reset it's mastery points. So I can level it up all over again. I find resetting a lot easier then "praying" that a new weapon of that type drops.

TheStigsVegCousin
06-14-2013, 05:09 PM
When I max out the weapon skill, I put that weapon in inventory and reset it's mastery points. So I can level it up all over again. I find resetting a lot easier then "praying" that a new weapon of that type drops.

Would it be gamebreaking if you could choose what you reset your weapon into? You spend the Ark Resources and you get to pick the Affinity, Nano, Bonus and what-not to set it up to fit your playstyle?

RealHoosier07
06-14-2013, 05:31 PM
It's been my experience, from a few different MMOs, drops are random. In Defiance, I've picked up several different cluster shots, for example. To date, I think only once did I get a duplicate nano effect on one.